Hydropower Monitoring

uDIG
Free Open Sources GIS Tools
April 24, 2020
Top 5 Free GIS Dataset Sources
Top 5 Free GIS Dataset Sources: Both Raster and Vector Data
April 29, 2020

Hydropower Monitoring

Hydro-power Monitoring Services at UIZ

Hydropower Monitoring Services at UIZ

Hydropower is the use of the flow of water to produce electricity, most of the time with a reservoir that stores a huge volume and a turbine that turn with the pressure of the water. The hydropower as renewable energy mostly uses in the world. Hydropower produces nearly 16.5% of the global electric energy. Other renewable energy covers about 5.2% of the total energy produced in 2012. These days, more and more countries want to use this clean energy to satisfy their growing demand in energy, in particular in the developing country where the construction of the dam is fast. As an example: The three Gorges dam in China produces the energy equivalent of 3 nuclear plants or another project in construction. The environmental aspect of this energy is also demanded to cut down the pollution produce by the coal power plant and other fossil fuels.

Hydropower Monitoring?

The hydropower monitoring plant is an important issue especially considering environmental challenges, social-economic environment and the number of people who work on the hydropower plant and save money on a project that need a lot of investment. However is not the only factor at stake, the impact of the hydropower on the environment is not negligible even more important than expected for a renewable energy.

What are the Objectives of Hydropower Monitoring?

Environmental monitoring of hydropower mean the processes and activities that need to take care to characterize and monitor the quality of the environment in relation to installed hydropower. This includes recording of various parameters of the plant with different sensors to identify imminent damage or danger, to

Hydropower-monitoring-services-at-UIZ-Berlin

organize the maintenance or to optimize the proper functioning. Many things are affected by the presence of a dam such as plants, water quality or even underground water around the project. So to avoid any lasting harm a set of sensors are placed all around the hydropower plant to monitor all the parameters.

What Kind of Methods and Monitors?

UIZ integrate various methods to monitor hydropower plant and associated area in the project together with installing sensors to strategically places where data could help to retrieve the environmental impact of the project.

UIZ Monitoring Services?

UIZ propose an integrated plan for all monitoring of the hydropower plant based on project requirements for small, medium and large scale project. UIZ integrate required sensors to monitor the parameters of a hydropower plant along with web-based data visualization system and secure data storage system. The expertise of our team is also at your service to help you to run the monitoring system.

Überwachung der Wasserkraft

Überwachung der Wasserkraft an der UIZ

Wasserkraft ist die Nutzung der Strömung eines Wassers zur Stromerzeugung, meist mit einem Speicher, der ein riesiges Volumen speichert, und einer Turbine, die sich mit dem Druck des Wassers dreht. Die Wasserkraft wird als erneuerbare Energie am häufigsten auf der Welt genutzt. Hydropwer produziert fast 16,5% der weltweiten elektrischen Energie. Andere erneuerbare Energien decken etwa 5,2 % der gesamten im Jahr 2012 erzeugten Energie ab. Heutzutage wollen immer mehr Länder diese saubere Energie nutzen, um ihren wachsenden Energiebedarf zu decken, insbesondere in dem Entwicklungsland, in dem der Bau von Dämmen schnell voranschreitet. Als Beispiel: Der Drei-Schluchten-Staudamm in China produziert Energieäquivalente von 3 Kernkraftwerken oder anderen Projekten im Bau. Der Umweltaspekt dieser Energie ist auch die Forderung, die Verschmutzung durch Kohlekraftwerke und andere fossile Brennstoffe zu reduzieren.

Wasserkraftüberwachung?

Das Wasserkraftüberwachungsanlage ist ein wichtiges Thema, vor allem in Anbetracht der ökologischen Herausforderungen, des sozioökonomischen Umfelds und der Anzahl der Menschen, die an dem Wasserkraftwerk arbeiten und Geld bei einem Projekt sparen, das viel Investition erfordert. Es geht jedoch nicht nur um den Faktor, die Auswirkungen der Wasserkraft auf die Umwelt sind nicht unerheblich und noch wichtiger als für eine erneuerbare Energie erwartet.

Was sind die Ziele der Wasserkraftüberwachung?

Unter der Umweltüberwachung der Wasserkraft versteht man die Prozesse und Tätigkeiten, die zur Charakterisierung und Überwachung der Umweltqualität in Bezug auf die installierte Wasserkraft erforderlich sind. Dazu gehört die Erfassung verschiedener Parameter der Anlage mit verschiedenen Sensoren, um drohende Schäden oder Gefahren zu erkennen, die Wartung zu organisieren oder die


einwandfreie Funktion zu optimieren. Viele Dinge werden durch das Vorhandensein eines Damms beeinflusst, wie z.B. Pflanzen, Wasserqualität oder sogar Grundwasser um das Projekt herum. Um dauerhafte Schäden zu vermeiden, sind daher rund um das Wasserkraftwerk mehrere Sensoren angebracht, die alle Parameter überwachen.

What kind of methods and monitors?

UIZ integrate various methods to monitor hydropower plant and associated area in the project together with installing sensors to strategically places where data could help to retrieved the environmental impact of the project.

Welche Art von Methoden und Monitoren?

Die UIZ integriert verschiedene Methoden zur Überwachung von Wasserkraftwerken und zugehörigen Bereichen im Projekt sowie die Installation von Sensoren an strategisch wichtigen Orten, an denen Daten dazu beitragen können, die Umweltauswirkungen des Projekts zu ermitteln.